Entry 2

6 Oct

Watched episode 10 of Heroes (S2).

Lab is at the river today. I would be more excited if the ‘procedure’ didn’t involve simply standing around for up to three hours taking our temperature every 15 minutes. I wonder if I could persuade a friend to come hang around and keep me company..

Warmer today than yesterday. At least so far. It was definitely nippy last night. Tried out some ‘in shower lotion’ stuff today. Not shabby. Seems a waste because they say to start with a quarter-sized amount for each ‘area of the body’. Sounds like you’d end up going through the bottle pretty quick, but I still think it was interesting. It’s like I put on lotion, but I didn’t really because it was in the shower and was rinsed off. O.o

I have a new email friend in Italy. Got to explain American neighborhoods and suburbia. Hearing how people from other countries perceive America is always really interesting – I was basically asked if my street looks like the one in the Simpsons.

Watched Death at a Funeral last night and ended up staying really late, but it was worth it. ^_^

Music:
The album ‘Realize’ by Karsh Kale

In Heroes, Kirsten Bell and Hayden Panettiere both look on the short side (to me), but I remember now that Kirsten Bell was always wearing heels, which explains why she looked the same height as Hayden (‘the cheerleader’), despite being 3 1/2 inches shorter at 5’1″ (according to IMDB.com). How tall is the kid that plays West, the flying boy? Hayden just always looks short compared to her dad, Noah, and West.

Really funny: http://animal.discovery.com/videos/weird-true-freaky-cheetah-poops-in-jeep.html#mkcpgn=fbapl1

Also interesting, given that I’m interested in animals, animal behavior, and biology: http://animal.discovery.com/videos/weird-true-freaky-self-milking-cow.html#mkcpgn=fbapl1

Wut… : http://blogs.discovery.com/daily_treat/2010/09/a-dog-poop-purse-epic-or-ewww.html#mkcpgn=twapl1

I mean, I understand about the ‘swinging poop bag’ and it’s awkwardness, but at the same time, I really don’t see myself EVER using this product. However, I still think it’s interesting that some people are trying to be creative about ways to make it more pleasant (or less unpleasant?) to pick up after our dogs.

Something I stumbled across that makes me VERY unhappy:

http://www.csmonitor.com/USA/Education/2010/0522/In-Texas-social-studies-textbooks-get-a-conservative-make-over

Our education system is so messed up! Christianity is NOT ‘science’! They are completely different! And basing education off of religious views is completely against the law, yet here they are getting away with it. I know some people are proud that LBJ was a Texan president, but you know what I heard? That he was an asshole. Obviously I have no proof, just something I heard someone say, but really – every story has two sides, and it really pains me to see so many issues skewed to suit Christian Republicans.

Many polls and a bunch of research was done regarding people and evolution, and it turns out a LOT of people don’t believe in evolution. Hey, that’s their choice, whatever. But in the SAME data, it was obvious that all these people ALSO admit that they don’t hardly know anything about it. How can you say you don’t believe it if you don’t understand it? Yeah, if you told me we were chimps yesterday and humans today, I’d think you were smoking something funny. But millions of years? It’s possible, folks.

Why Evolution is True, by Jerry A. Coyne, page 28:

“Humans are newcomers on the scene – our lineage branches off from that of other primates only about 7 million years ago, the merest sliver of evolutionary time. Various imaginative analogies have been used to make this point, and it is worth making again. If the entire course of evolution were compressed into a single year, the earliest bacteria would appear at the end of March, but we wouldn’t see the first human ancestors until 6 am on December 31. The golden age of Greece, about 500 BC, would occur just thirty seconds before midnight.”

Mind blowing. But it allows us to see the true scale of time, rather than just day to day, or year to year. 100 years in comparison to the age of the earth? Not even the blink of an eye can compare. I can’t explain how grateful I am that I have open-minded, rational parents, that I went to a good school that taught evolution, and that my major also requires me to learn about biology and evolution.

Time to shut up and catch the bus.

Leave a Reply

